István (part 3 from 'Sinfonia Hungarica')

Sinfonia Hungarica is a three-movement symphony that depicts the history of Hungary. All three movements were inspired by historical key figures, wars, and other important events from this country. This symphony is a celebration of Hungary’s millennium in 2001.The final movement is named after ISTVAN, the King who introduced Christianity into Hungary and who was crowned by Pope Silvestro II on January 1, 1001. A rather solemn start leads to another war-like passage, ending with some loud crashes. This symbolizes the fact that the body of the pagan Koppany was cut into four pieces, and sent to the four castles of the country as an example. After a quiet, almost religious intermezzo, the National Hymn of Hungary is introduced. This broad “grandioso” ending also has a symbolic meaning: after ten centuries, Hungary has many reasons to look back on the past with pride, and to look forward to the future with optimism and confidence.

Concert band
De Haske (buy at De Haske)
Publisher Code
DHP 1002209-010
× × × × × ×